What you need to know…

The National 4-H Dairy Conference website details nearly everything you need to know for your trip to Madison this fall. But, if there’s something else you’re looking for, the Participant and Coordinator handbooks provide a wealth of information:

2016 Coordinator Handbook

2016 Participant Handbook

The Expectation Statement for Adults, Youth Code of Conduct, Field Trip Authorization, and the Registration and Lodging Reservation forms are all included within the “Delegate and Adult Advisor Registration Materials and Handbook.”

Links to both handbooks and the necessary forms are provided below. FORMS MUST BE RETURNED TO CALS CONFERENCE SERVICES BY SEPTEMBER 3, 2016.

Chaperone calls will take place:

September 7: Chaperone Orientation Teleconferences in the evening at 8 p.m. EDT, 7 p.m. CDT, 6 p.m. MDT, 5 p.m. PDT (Call: 509-335-4700, Pass Code: 1234)
September 8: Chaperone Orientation Teleconferences in the morning at noon EDT, 11 a.m. CDT, 10 a.m. MDT, 9 a.m. PDT (Call: 509-335-4700, Pass Code: 1234)

We can’t wait to see you in Madison!

 

2015N4HDC-192

My National 4-H Dairy Conference Experience

By Marcus Roberts, Idaho

In 2014, I was able to participate in the National 4-H Dairy Conference held in Madison, Wis. Before attending the conference I had limited knowledge of the dairy industry and why it was important. This conference increased my knowledge of the dairy industry helped me become a better leader, and allowed me to create new friendships.

I started the conference by meeting youth delegates from other U.S. states and Canadian provinces. Throughout the conference, I participated in many events that focused on meeting new people including a pin exchange, dances, games and other activities.

Throughout the week, youth delegates go on many tours and attend seminars about different aspects of the dairy industry. These include how to extract semen, writing and publishing dairy literature, small and large dairy farm operations, dairy history, and business practices. In addition, seminars focused on dairy careers were offered. I also heard many guest speakers who teach us about dairy advocacy and attended World Dairy Expo.

At the conference, the National 4-H Dairy Conference planning committee opened two spots for youth delegates to be on the committee. I filled out an application and had an interview with members of the planning committee. A week after the conference, the chairman, Gary Fredericks, called told me I had been chosen to be a youth delegate on the committee.

As part of the National 4-H Dairy Conference Committee I was expected to participate in monthly conference calls and help plan and give input at planning meetings. At the 2015 conference I helped prepare bags to be handed out at the conference, gave an introductory speech and shared a YouTube video I created showcasing the 2014 National 4-H Dairy Conference. I made myself available to the youth delegates and helped them with questions or concerns they had. I gave input and feedback to the planning committee in the process of choosing youth delegates for the 2016 conference.

The National 4-H Dairy conference developed my leadership abilities. It also built my social skills and made me more confident. The dairy conference helped me learn more about the dairy industry and the many career areas it encompasses.

 

2014N4HDC-087

Conference is just around the corner

With less than a week to go before delegates begin arriving in Madison, the planning committee wanted to share a few reminders to help your trip go more smoothly:

  1. There is a home football game on Saturday. Due to that, check-in may be slower than normal. The Lowell staff will work as quickly as they can to get you into your assigned rooms. Your patience is always appreciated.
  2. Registration for the conference will take place in the Upper Lobby. When you check-in your state, you can also drop off your items for the speaker gift bags.
  3. Pin exchange will take place on Sunday evening. Remember to bring pins so that all delegates can participate!
  4. Have fun! We can’t wait to see you in Madison!

Handbooks have everything you need to know…

The recently launched National 4-H Dairy Conference website details nearly everything you need to know for your trip to Madison this fall. But, if there’s something else you’re looking for, the Participant and Coordinator handbooks provide a wealth of information.

The Expectation Statement for Adults, Youth Code of Conduct, Field Trip Authorization, and the Registration and Lodging Reservation forms are all included within the “Delegate and Adult Advisor Registration Materials and Handbook.”

Links to both handbooks and the necessary forms are provided below. FORMS MUST BE RETURNED TO CALS CONFERENCE SERVICES BY AUGUST 29, 2015. Online registration will open July 15.

Registration and Lodging – Registration and Lodging

Payment Form – Payment Form

Adult Expectation Form – Adult Expectation Form

Youth Expectation of Conduct Form – YouthConduct

Field Trip Authorization – Field Trip Authorization

15NDC-Hdbk-Participant

15NDC-Hdbk-Coordinator

We look forward to seeing you in Madison!